Grandmother of all PJs, Batman and Robin?

I returned to Chennai for the weekend, and was treated to normal home food prepared by mummy and granny, which I now consider special… Sigh, missing the thengai podi (coconut powder) and amma’s pepper rasam. Of course, anyone away from home will echo my feelings. So the point here is that, the unthinkable happened at home yesterday, around 5 pm. πŸ˜€ Here’s an excerpt of the conversation between myself and amma, with granny listening to us. The conversation was in tamil.

Amma(A): *eating dosa* “Prasan, don’t you want some dosa? Is noodles enough for you?”
Me(M): “No,ma! In Bangalore, I eat idli or dosa daily for breakfast. I would prefer to eat pongal at home alone.”
A: “Oh! Do the nearby hotels serve all kinds of dosa?”
M: “Yeah, ma. Open dosa,rava dosa in food court. Uthappam, masala dosa blah blah in nearby hotels..”
A: “Wait! You forgot to mention one… Set dosa? Do they serve them too?”
*Before I could respond, granny interjects!*
Granny: “Definitely they will have SET dosa… After all, Prasan is in SET labs!!”
*Amma and I were speechless*

And on a fine saturday evening, enroute to a friend’s home in Choolaimedu, i came across a juice shop, with the following banner

FRESH JUICE, COOL DRINKS
and ICE CRIMES

Ice crimes? When did Mr.Freeze land in India, and specifically in Chennai? πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I was trying to imagine Mr.Freeze selling cold drinks in the summer season πŸ˜€

P.S. Couldn’t take a photograph of the banner, because the shop owner was looking at me suspiciously when i was lingering outside for more than a minute. 😦 πŸ˜›

7 responses to “Grandmother of all PJs, Batman and Robin?

  1. ha ha!

    Prazy your grandmom had overshadowed your PJs.

    Now next till you start PJ League don’t forget to include her as Icon Player πŸ˜‰

  2. @Veetrag Good suggestion. Only catch is that my granny is 78 years old, and has already retired. πŸ˜€

    @Sounak @Veera @Vivin πŸ™‚

  3. ROFTL.. Set dosa and SETLabs..

    How I missed this blog in our internal blogs?

    Awesome PJ.. Now I can say that it is in your blood.. built-in πŸ™‚

  4. One of the advantages of being out of training- I finally get to dig out people’s external blogs. I’m wondering if you have another magazine here. (And you’d better not be wondering who I am.)

Leave a Reply

